Andrea McLean announces the end of her second marriage after two years

Loose Women star Andrea McLean has announced the end of her second marriage after just two years.
The 42-year-old wed Steve Toms in August 2009, after having an affair with the builder six years earlier, cheating on her first husband, Nick Green.
In a tearful interview, the mother-of-two told of her heartbreak as the relationship broke down.

‘We held it together over Christmas for the kids but then on Boxing Day I took them to stay with my parents – and that was the end,’ she told the Daily Mirror.
‘I’m still in shock. When I hear myself talking about “my first marriage breakdown” then “this time round,” the words are like a stab in the heart. Because I simply can’t believe I’m in this position again. People think I’m Snow White… the most boring person in the world! I’ve only ever slept with two men and I married them both.
‘I’ve always been choosy and never played the field but now here I am… a single mum with two children by two different husbands and two failed marriages behind me.
She added: ‘I feel I have let my children down. They don’t deserve this.
‘I just wanted to give them what I had – a happy, loving home with a mum and dad who adored each other. And all I’ve ever wanted is to be one half of a couple. But now that’s all gone. I’m heartbroken.’
She said she and Steve had simply ‘grown apart’ despite trying hard to make it work.
Andrea split with her first husband, BBC producer and her childhood sweetheart Nick Green, after an affair with Steve in 2003, after just three years of marriage.
The pair had met when Steve was a builder on UKTV home makeover show called Our House, which Andrea hosted, and their affair made national headlines.
‘My first marriage was already dying by the time I met Steve but I am still so ashamed of what I did then because I caused pain to people I loved and betrayed my husband in the worst way that a wife can,’ she told the paper.
‘I hated myself for a long time because of that. Then, six years later when Steve and I finally got married, I went into it with a heart full of love and hope – determined this would be different.

But as time went by and I realised I couldn’t make this marriage work either I felt utter panic. I feel completely destroyed by it all.’
Andrea has a 10-year-old son, Finlay, with Nick, and a daughter Amy, five, with Steve.

For more pictures go to our website scopefeatures.com

Leave a Reply

