CORRIE star Natalie Gumede talks about her character’s explosive exit

CORRIE star Natalie Gumede says her character’s explosive exit came at the perfect time – because the intense scenes had left her exhausted.
Viewers will see super-bitch Kirsty Soames appear on screen for the last time as Tyrone (Alan Halsall) shuts the door on his violent ex.
Natalie revealed she was desperate for a rest after months of heart-wrenching storylines left her struggling to see “beyond my own nose”.
She admitted: “The last few weeks of filming were very intense and exhausting. And I had been in tears every other day for about six months beforehand.
“The devastating life of turmoil that Kirsty leads requires that input — that complete giving up of oneself to this character.
“It makes for a challenging time.
“You have no idea when you join the show how intense and all-encompassing it’s going to be.
“The rest of your life is on hold and there’s no room for anything else.”
She continued: “I’m not complaining, because that’s the way the character has to be played.
“If I had gone at it half-heartedly it wouldn’t have been believable. But when I left I had no idea what to do next, because I hadn’t had time to pull my head out of the sand or look beyond what I could see in front of my nose.
“I was always thinking, ‘What am I going to do with this scene?’ I didn’t lose sleep over it but there were times when I’d go to bed with my mind whirring.”
Natalie is being lined up to star in the next series of Strictly Come Dancing.   She said: “I’m a huge fan and would love to get the sequins out and be partnered with Brendan Cole. I know he’s a hard taskmaster but I like a challenge.”

More hi-res images can be found on our website scopefeatures.com

Leave a Reply

