Karen Hogan plastic surgery By…. Dave Poole

Would a face-lift bring back the real me? After losing half her body weight, Karen Hogan was left with sagging skin, deep lines and droopy eyes. Here, she reveals why she decided to go under the knife.

After losing half her body weight, i was left with an unnaturally aged face. Here she reveals why, in order to look herself again, she decided to go under the knife…
Seven years ago, I achieved a major goal in my life: I reduced my body weight by half to 10st. People’s reactions towards me changed immediately – the slights and slurs I had endured for years suddenly stopped.
At my former weight of 21st, I did everything I could to become invisible – rarely venturing out and hiding under drab, shapeless clothes.
Over time, I had practically become a recluse – unable to embrace life while burdened with unnecessary fleshy ballast.

Now size-10 slender, I could finally step out from the shadows. Losing such a significant amount of weight in just a year was drastic and I achieved it the simple (some would say hard) way, by cutting out the things I loved most, namely anything – food or drink – containing sugar. It worked.
As the weight melted away, I harboured great expectations for life after obesity. I was convinced that my dramatically altered appearance would unveil a new, beautiful me. But the rapid weight loss combined with lack of exercise (due to obesity-related osteoarthritis) left me with an unnaturally aged face, complete with sagging skin, deep lines and droopy eyes.

Now size-10 slender, I could finally step out from the shadows. Losing such a significant amount of weight in just a year was drastic and I achieved it the simple (some would say hard) way, by cutting out the things I loved most, namely anything – food or drink – containing sugar. It worked.
As the weight melted away, I harboured great expectations for life after obesity. I was convinced that my dramatically altered appearance would unveil a new, beautiful me. But the rapid weight loss combined with lack of exercise (due to obesity-related osteoarthritis) left me with an unnaturally aged face, complete with sagging skin, deep lines and droopy eyes.

It feels amazing to be freed from my permanent scowl. After 30 years of not leaving the house without being caked in make-up, I dash out now with just a touch of lippie and mascara. I’m delighted at how quick the recovery time has been.
After years of suffering casual abuse from strangers, the reactions I get now are the opposite. People smile at me. A friend I hadn’t seen for a while asked me if I’d taken a lover. She told me I looked ‘glowing’, and her compliments moved me to tears.
Like many people, no doubt, reading this article, I was sceptical about cosmetic surgery. I still can be if it seems unnecessary. But having been, in my eyes, ugly, it is amazing when my sister marvels at the beautiful texture and alabaster tone of my skin. In shops people stop to talk to me randomly with a smile and a joke because I look approachable.
My daughter is treating me to a weekend at a health spa and has paid for me to have a make-up lesson. The other night she hugged me, and whispered, ‘I loved you before the operation, but seeing you so happy afterwards makes me even happier.’ What more could I want?
I now feel ready to grab life by the horns, and travel, first of all to Florence. Many years ago, I studied 15th-century Italian art but lacked the confidence to leave home, let alone travel to a foreign country. Now nothing will stop me. And after Florence, who knows? All I know for sure is that I am going to maintain my healthy weight, enjoy my face and greet the world with a natural smile and joy of life.

Hi-res images can be found on our website www.scopefeatures.com

Leave a Reply

